accordingly the Kaçmīr Vihāras whose founders are referred to in Ou-k'ong's account, bore the names or titles of those who established them.

We are led to the same conclusion by an examination of the names which Kalhaṇa's Chronicle has recorded of Vihāras founded in Kaçmīr. Apart from four Vihāras referred to in the first and least historical canto of the Chronicle — the statements of which regarding particular foundations can often be shown to be based on very vague traditions — we find that all Vihāras whose names are specified, were with one exception called after the founders or, in rare instances, after the latters near relatives.<sup>1</sup>

The Vihāras mentioned with special names in the first Taranga are the Narendrabhavana and Saurasa Vihāras ascribed to King Surendra, I. 93 sq.; the Vihāra of Jalora (probably a local name) attributed to King Janaka, and the Dharmāranyavihāra connected with the legendary account of King Açoka. Regarding the grave doubts attaching to the names of Surendra, Janaka and other kings which Kalhana took from Helarāja's Pārthivāvali, see the very just remarks of Dr. Hultzsch, Indian Antiquary XVIII, p. 69. — The solitary exception alluded to above is the name Krīdārāmavihāra which King Muktāpīda is said to have given to a monastery he founded while at play (krīdan) IV, 184. According to Kalhana's statement IV. 182 sqq., this kind of fanciful name-giving appears to have been a personal fad of Muktāpīda.

The following is a list of passages in which the Chronicle mentions particular vihāras without, however, indicating their names: I. 147. 169. 199; III. 11. 380. 464. 476; IV. 188. 215. 216. 507; VII. 121; VIII. 246. 3352.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Vihāras thus named are the following: The Vihāra called Amṛta-bhavana, III. 9, founded by the queen Amṛtaprabhā; the Indradevībhavanavihāra, III. 13, VIII. 1172, comp. VIII. 1172, founded by queen Indradevī; Vihāras founded by Khādanā, Sammā and other queens of Meghavāhana under their own names, III. 14; the Jayendravihāra, established by Jayendra, III. 355, V. 428; the Anaṅgabhavana founded by queen Anaṅgalekhā, IV. 3; the Prakāçikāvihāra of queen Prakāçadevī; IV. 79; the Rājavihāra, called after King (Rāja) Muktāpīḍa, IV. 200 (VII. 1335); the Kayyavihāra founded by King Kayya of Lāṭa, IV. 210; the Caṅkuṇavihāra built by the Tuḥkhāra Caṅkuṇa, IV. 211 (see below); the Skandabhavanavihāra. VI. 137 (VIII. 1442), evidently the vihāra mentioned in III. 380 as having been built by Skandagupta; the Diddāvihāra, built by queen Diddā, VI. 303, VIII. 580; the Sullāvihāra, built in honor of Sullā, VIII. 248. 3318; the Bijjāvihāra, erected by Dhanva in memory of his deceased wife Bijjā, VIII. 3343.